Oralkhan Bokeyev spoke English

Oralkhan Bokeyev’s contribution to the treasury of Kazakh literature is invaluable.

 

The main purpose of the international Kazakh PEN-club is the promotion of the Kazakh literature abroad. During the last years it translated and published in English speaking countries about ten books of Kazakh classics: “Избранные” by Mukagali Makatayev, the story “Меня зовут Кожа” by Berdibek Sokpakbayev, the novel “”Конец легенды” by Abish Kekilbayev, “Код слова” by Olzhas Suleimenov,  the novel “Одинокая юрта” by Smagul Yelubayev, “Избранные” by Gerold Berger, “Красавица в трауре” (novels and stories) by Mukhtar Auezov and others. This seria was published by the name “We are Kazakhs”.

 

 

On February 23 in Astana in Astana Marriott Hotel the international PEN-club held a big conference devoted to publishing in England a selected works of Kazakh prosaist  and playwright Oralkhan Bokeyev. The English masters of translation Simon Hollingsworth and Simon Geighan translated his book “Человек-Олень”. They arrived at Astana to take part in this conference.

 

 

The participants of the conference listened to the report of Bigelda Gabdullin, the President of the international Kazakh PEN-club about creative work of Oralkhan Bokeyev, prosaist Alibek Askarov about the role of O. Bokeyev in Kazakh literature, his influence on the young generation of Kazakh writers, reminiscences of colleagues Kadyrbek Segizbayev, Kuanyshbay Kurmangaliyev, the head of JSC “Kazakhtelekom”, that was the sponsor of the project.

 

The audience was interested to learn from the interpreters about the creative translation laboratory, about the style and philosophical researches of the author.

 

 

Other speakers raised the actual guestions about the responsibility of the artist to the humanity and to our society.

 

Source: https://informburo.kz/stati/oralhan-bokeev-zagovoril-na-angliyskom.html

Оралхан Бокеев заговорил на английском

Вклад Оралхана Бокеева в сокровищницу казахской художественной прозы неоценим

 

Международный казахский ПЕН-клуб одним из своих главных задач в своей деятельности видит пропаганду достижений казахской литературы за рубежом. Памятуя это, Казахский ПЕН-клуб за последние годы перевёл и издал в англоязычных странах около десяти произведений казахских классиков: «Избранные» Мукагали Макатаева, повесть «Меня зовут Кожа» Бердибека Сокпакбаева, роман «Конец легенды» Абиша Кекилбаева, «Код слова» Олжаса Сулейменова, роман «Одинокая юрта» Смагула Елубаева, «Избранные» Герольда Бельгера, «Красавица в трауре» (повести и рассказы) Мухтара Ауэзова и др. Эта серия изданных книг выходит под общим названием «Мы – казахи…».

 

 

23 февраля в Астане в Astana Marriott Hotel Международный казахский ПЕН-клуб провёл большую конференцию, посвящённую изданию в Англии избранных произведений выдающегося казахского прозаика, драматурга Оралхана Бокеева. Над художественным переводом его книги «Человек-Олень» трудились английские мастера перевода Саймон Холлингсворт и Саймон Гейган, которые прибыли в Астану из Лондона для участия в работе конференции.

 

 

Участники собрания прослушали доклад Бигельды Габдуллина, президента Международного казахского ПЕН-клуба, о творчестве О. Бокеева, выступление прозаика Алибека Аскарова о роли Бокеева в казахской литературе, о его влиянии на последующие поколения писателей, воспоминания коллег Кадырбека Сегизбаева, Куанышбая Курмангалиева, руководства АО «Казахтелеком», который стал спонсором данного проекта.

 

Слушателям было интересно узнать из уст переводчиков о творческой лаборатории перевода, о стиле и философских исканиях автора.

 

 

В речах и других спикеров поднимались актуальные вопросы об ответственности художника перед человечеством, перед нашим обществом.

 

Источник: https://informburo.kz/stati/oralhan-bokeev-zagovoril-na-angliyskom.html